Warrant Committee

The Warrant Committee is appointed by the Town Moderator who is elected. The Warrant Committee is the town’s finance committee. It works in concert with all town committees and departments including the Capital Budget Committee and the Board of Selectmen. The Warrant Committee’s function is to review, vet and recommend to the Board of Selectmen and town voters the annual budget and all town articles in preparation for the Annual Town Meeting.

Contacting the Warrant Committee

Mailing Address:
Warrant Committee
P.O. Box 250
Dover, MA 02030

Members

Position Member Term Expires Email
Member James Stuart 2018 jstuart@doverma.org
Member John Cone 2018 jcone@doverma.org
Member Brooks Gernerd 2018 bgernerd@doverma.org
Member Kathleen Gill-Body 2017 kgillbody@doverma.org
Chair Kate Cannie 2017 kcannie@doverma.org
Member Rodney Petersen 2017 rpetersen@doverma.org
Member Carol Chirico 2019 cchirico@doverma.org
Member Fredric Hammerle 2019 fhammerle@doverma.org
Member Erika Alders 2019 ealders@doverma.org
Selectmen’s Liaison Candace McCann 2017 cmcann@doverma.org

Meetings

The Warrant Committee generally meets once a week from September to May. Check the Town Calendar for meeting dates and times. Review the Warrant Committee’s meeting minutes for a record of their meetings.

Dover Town Code Description of Responsibilities

Dover Town Code
4-26 Membership; terms of office; vacancies.
There shall be a nine-member Warrant Committee appointed by the Moderator on a rotating basis with three members appointed each year for three-year terms. No member shall serve more than two successive three-year terms. A vacancy resulting from resignation of a member shall be filled by majority vote of the remaining members. No member shall serve in any other Town office or committee except as a representative of the Warrant Committee.

4-27 Duties
The Warrant Committee shall consider and investigate the various articles in the warrants for all Town Meetings. It shall be the duty of the Selectmen, immediately after signing any Town Meeting warrant, to transmit a copy of the same to each member of the Warrant Committee. It shall be the duty of the Town officers and committees to furnish the Warrant Committee with all information requested by the Warrant Committee relative to the matters considered by it.

Frequently Asked Questions

When does the Warrant Committee meet?
The Warrant Committee generally meets once a week from September to May. Check the Town Calendar for meeting dates and times.

Are meetings open to the public?
Yes. All Warrant Committee meetings are open to the public.

How does one get on the Warrant Committee?
Members of the Warrant Committee are appointed by the Moderator.

How does an article get on the Warrant?
There is more than one way for an article to get on the Warrant. The first way is for the Board of Selectmen to determine what items can get on the Town Warrant for Town Meeting. In addition to that, in Massachusetts, residents may place articles on the warrant without approval of the Selectmen by petitioning to insert the article. Petitions to insert an article on the warrant for an Annual Town Meeting require ten signatures of eligible Dover voters. Petitions to insert an article on the warrant for a Special Town Meeting require 100 signatures or the signatures of ten per cent of the registered voters in the town, whichever is less. The Warrant for the Annual Town Meeting is usually open for acceptance of articles in early December and closes in late January. Please call the Selectmen’s Office for more information. (508-785-0032 ext. 221)

Is it possible for citizens to review Articles prior to Town Meeting?
Yes. There is an Open Hearing in March open to all residents of Dover. Also, the Warrant Committee sends out a “blue book” with their recommendations on the articles prior to Town Meeting in May.

Is the blue book available online?
The Warrant Committee sends an electronic copy of the blue book to the town’s IT Department for posting on the homepage of the town website at the same time it is ready in hard copy. It is made available on the homepage of the Dover Town Website until Town Meeting occurs.

How long does a member of the Warrant Committee serve?
Terms are for 3 years.